top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Joseph Albert

I STAND, CORRECTED


As we walked in Manhattan

past Fifth Avenue,

I told my young boys the old chestnut

that life is so much easier

for rich men and pretty girls.

“That’s not really true,”

said a blonde so gorgeous

our ears all went red.

“I eat tofu three meals a day

and I still have self-esteem issues!”

“And I work harder than ever;”

said a man coming the other way,

in a suit made money

“the more I have, the more

I have to work to protect it.”

“Is that so?” I said.

“We could relieve you of some…”

He only shook his head

and went on his way...

...we noticed that she went with him.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Beware of Dog

“Beware of Dog!” the back gate warns; a sporting chance is what it gives to burglars who choose to spurn it at their peril! For, who yet lives to see another sun arise and won’t pay heed to such a sig

Rodent Dangerfield

Rodent Dangerfield was The Smartest Squirrel In The World whose receding hareline gave him the appearance of a Rodent Duval, and his nut was the size of a tangerine— the cognitive superiority it besto

In the Fairy-tale Land Deploraldo

In the fairy-tale land Deploraldo, those fertile fruit fields by the sea, the frolicking folk danced the Baldeaux, singing fatuous songs of the free. They fêted the fall, as we all do, for its gold wi

bottom of page